NiTRO Creative Matters

Perspectives on creative arts in higher education

Congratulations to ARC grant recipients

Over the Christmas break the ARC has announced a number of new grants awarded. In creative arts these include:

  • Hearing the music of early New South Wales, 1788-1860. Chief Investigators: Professor Neal Peres Da Costa; Dr Amanda Harris; Professor Jakelin Troy; Dr Toby Martin; Dr Matthew Stephens 

  • Physical musicality: Optimising lived experience among older adults. Chief investigators: Professor William Thompson; Professor Jane Davidson; Professor Teresa Liu-Ambrose; Professor Rainbow Tin Hung Ho; Professor Robin Green 

  • Towards an Australian Ecological Theatre. Chief Investigators: Professor Denise Varney; Professor Peta Tait; Professor Peter Eckersall; Professor Jennifer Parker-Starbuck. 

  • Precarious Movements: Choreography and the Museum. Chief Investigators: Dr Erin Brannigan; Dr Rochelle Haley; Miss Hannah Mathews; Ms Lisa Catt; Ms Pip Wallis; Miss Louise Lawson; Ms Carolyn Murphy 

Two Linkage Equipment, Infrastructure and Facilities (LIEF) grants were announced in the creative arts fields: 

  • A project which aims to study AusStage to enhance the world’s oldest and most extensive national dataset on live performance. Chief Investigators: Emeritus Professor Julie Holledge; Professor Maryrose Casey; Dr Mary Cochrane; Professor Rachel Fensham; Dr Rea Dennis; Professor Stacy Holman Jones; Associate Professor Bree Hadley; Associate Professor Gillian Arrighi; Dr Jonathan Bollen; Dr Laura Ginters; Dr Jonathan W. Marshall; Professor Peta Tait; Dr Jane Woollard; Professor Julian Meyrick; Dr Margaret Hamilton 

  • A project to develop an Australian Cultural Data Engine (ACD-Engine) as an open software engineering facility that interacts with leading existing cultural databases in architecture, visual and performing arts, humanities, and heritage to build a bridge to information and social sciences. Chief Investigators: Professor Rachel Fensham; Associate Professor George Buchanan; Professor John Macarthur; Dr Scott East; Associate Professor Amir Aryani; Professor David Carlin; Professor Hugh Craig; Associate Professor Joanna Mendelssohn; Emeritus Professor Julie Holledge; Dr James Smithies; Dr David McMeekin; Professor Lisa Given. 

Other recent news

Jobs @ UniSA

Lecturer: Contemporary Art (Ceramics) (Academic Level A) Lecturer: Architecture (Teaching Academic Level A/B) Associate Professor/Professor of Contemporary Art (Academic Level

Read More +

Other related news

Calling for contributions to an edited book exploring the impacts of artistic research and practice-based research PhDs upon creative practice. This book will be edited by Brad Haylock, Jessica Wilkinson, and Charles Anderson of RMIT University, and published by Valiz. Final contributions Timeline Fees Read more @ Research-in-practice…

Submissions due 30 November 2023 Editors Behzad Khosravi Noori and Magnus Bärtås. Nordic Journal for Artistic Research is inviting contributions to Issue 12: Contemporary Ar(t)chaeology: A dead-alive of Artistic Re-search and History Read more @ VIS…

Lecturer: Contemporary Art (Ceramics) (Academic Level A) Lecturer: Architecture (Teaching Academic Level A/B) Associate Professor/Professor of Contemporary Art (Academic Level D/E) Lecturer/Senior Lecturer in Animation (Academic Level B/C) Lecturer/Senior Lecturer in Photography (Academic Level B/C)

by Clive Barstow and Paul Uhlmann It is with great sadness that our lifelong colleague and mentor in the arts, Professor Ted Snell passed away on the 26th of September 2023 at the young age of 74. Ted was highly regarded both nationally and internationally for advancing the status of the visual arts in our […]

Submissions due 15th November 2024 The DDCA 2023 Annual Conference has taken as our theme for this year: Thriving Futures – with additional panels formed around the topic of Leadership. These are two priority areas for universities and arts sectors in general, and we wanted to participate in this conversation by focussing on what these […]

Submissions close Sunday 14 January 2024 HDR + ECR Special Issue of NiTRO Creative Matters HOW LIFE GETS IN We have been told that when you’re doing a PhD, ‘everything’ is the PhD…  But is it? We’re interested in what happens when the academy and life collide. How does your practice change, inform, and permeate […]